top of page
  • Writer's pictureJace Shoemaker-Galloway

Mother-in-Law Day: Funny and not-so-funny MIL quotes


Chances are pretty good, you’ve got one. And if you don’t happen to have one right now, at some point in your future, you probably will. If yours is supportive, loving and caring, thank your lucky stars! Because other poor souls have to deal with the meddling, snooping, complaining and controlling kind – Momzilla!

Whether yours dons sharp horns or a shiny halo, today is dedicated to mother-in-laws across the land - it’s Mother-in-Law Day (MILD)! Love ‘em or, well, not so much, today is all about your spouse’s mom, that one-of-a-kind lady that raised your significant other. While the origins of this annual "holiday" are unknown, MILD is observed each year on the fourth Sunday in October.

Mother-in-Law Quotes & Sayings

  • “Adam was the luckiest man: he had no mother-in-law.” - Mark Twain

  • “I saw six men kicking and punching the mother-in-law. My neighbour said 'Are you going to help?' I said 'No, six should be enough.'” - Les Dawson

  • “I told my mother-in-law that my house was her house, and she said, 'Get the hell off my property.'” - Joan Rivers

  • “English Law prohibits a man from marrying his mother-in-law. This is our idea of useless legislation.” - Unknown

  • “The mother-in-law frequently forgets that she was a daughter-in-law.” - Unknown

  • “Be kind to your mother-in-law but pay for her board at some good hotel.” - Josh Billings

  • “Just got back from a pleasure trip: I took my mother-in-law to the airport. “ - Henny Youngman

  • “Once blessed with a wonderful mother, I am twice blessed with my mother-in-law.” - Unknown

  • “I can always tell when the mother-in-law's coming to stay; the mice throw themselves on the traps.” - Les Dawson

  • “I wanted to do something nice so I bought my mother-in-law a chair. Now they won’t let me plug it in.” – Henny Youngman

  • “I haven’t spoken to my mother-in-law for eighteen months. I don’t like to interrupt her.” – Kenn Dodd

Mother-in-Law Day Ideas

  • Whip up a batch of her favorite sweet treats.

  • Go shopping together.

  • Get her a gift card from her favorite store.

  • Offer to send her on an all-expenses, weekend getaway.

  • If she has a good sense of humor, make it movie night with the hilarious 2005 film,Monster-in-Law, starring Jennifer Lopez and Jane Fonda.Happy Mother-in-Law Day!

Sources:

  • BrainyQuotes

  • Think Exist

bottom of page