top of page
  • Writer's pictureJace Shoemaker-Galloway

One-Liners Day: Movies most memorable and famous one-liners


Each year, millions turn on and tune in to watch the Golden Globes, Emmys, Oscars, People's Choice and/or SAG Awards to find out "who" the famous celebs are wearing as they stroll down the red carpet and find out who takes home the coveted trophy for the best of the best in filmand television.

With the highly anticipated award season in full swing, a special day of the year is almost here that celebrates some of the best one-liners in films. Jan. 21 is One-Liners Day, an annual "holiday" created by the Queen of Holidays that shines the spotlight on those memorable moments in movie history (and wish we would have thought of!)

In honor of One-Liners Day, take a stroll down memory lane and reminisce at a few of the most famous one-liners in film.

Memorable Movie One-Liners

  • I'll have what she's having! ~ When Harry Met Sally

  • You're gonna need a bigger boat! ~ Jaws

  • I'm the king of the world! ~ Titanic

  • Frankly my dear, I don't give a damn! ~ Gone With the Wind

  • You'll shoot your eye out! ~ A Christmas Story

  • I see dead people. ~ The Sixth Sense

  • I'm as mad as hell and I'm not going to take this anymore! ~ Network

  • E.T. phone home ~ E.T.

  • You had me at hello! ~ Jerry Maguire

  • Show me the money! ~ Jerry Maguire

  • There's no place like home. ~ Wizard of Oz

  • I'll get you, my pretty! ~ Wizard of Oz

  • Here's looking at you, kid! ~ Casablanca

  • Play it again, Sam. ~ Casablanca

  • Shaken, not stirred. ~ Goldfinger

  • They call me Mister Tibbs. ~ In the Heat of the Night

  • May the force be with you! ~ Star Wars

  • Nobody puts Baby in a corner. ~ Dirty Dancing

  • Fasten your seat belts, it's gonna be a bumpy night. ~ All About Eve

  • If you build it, he will come. ~ Field of Dreams

  • I'll be back. ~ The Terminator

  • Hasta la vista, baby. ~ Terminator 2

  • You cant handle the truth! ~ A Few Good Men

  • I came here tonight because when you realize you want to spend the rest of your life with somebody, you want the rest of your life to start as soon as possible. ~ When Harry Met Sally

  • Houston, we have a problem. ~ Apollo 13

  • Mrs. Robinson, you're trying to seduce me, aren't you? ~ The Graduate

  • Go ahead, make my day! ~ Sudden Impact

  • Heeer's Johnny! - The Shining

  • Life is like a box of chocolates; you never know what you're gonna get. ~ Forrest Gump

  • I feel the need for speed! ~ Top Gun

  • And don't call me Shirley. ~ Airplane

  • Bueller...Bueller. ~ Ferris Bueller's Day Off

  • Shall we play a game? ~ WarGames

Jan. 21 is also National Hugging Day and Squirrel Appreciation Day!

Sources:

AMOG: 101 Movie One-Liners Everyone Should Know

Woman's Day. 15 Most Memorable Movie Quotes

bottom of page