top of page
  • Writer's pictureJace Shoemaker-Galloway

Winston Churchill Day

April 9 is Winston Churchill Day. On this day in 1963, Sir Winston Churchill became an honorary citizen of the United States of America. Although Churchill was not present, both his son and grandson were able to attend the ceremony with President John F. Kennedy presiding.

Sir Winston Churchill

Winston Leonard Spencer-Churchill was born in 1874. He was elected to the British Parliament in 1900. He married Clementine Hozier in 1908. The admired British politician also served as First Lord of the Admiralty, Secretary of State for War and Air and Prime Minister of the United Kingdom. In 1953, Churchill won the Nobel Prize for Literature.

Often described as one of the greatest orator’s of the time, several of his well-known quotations include:

“History will be kind to me for I intend to write it.”

“Madam, all babies look like me.”

“I am easily satisfied with the best.”

“Eating my words has never given me indigestion.”

“My most brilliant achievement was to persuade my wife to marry me.”

During the later part of his life, painting played a significant role in Churchill's life. His passion for painting began during World War II and his work was highly acclaimed.

Surrounded by his wife and loved ones, Churchill died at his home in London in January 1965. He was 90 years old. By decree of Queen Elizabeth, his body lay in state for three days.

bottom of page